The World

[as I find it]

Kernel .config for HP Pavilion XE783

When I’m not working from a Windows Server install (…ugh), I have been using Ubuntu on an old HP desktop: a Pavilion XE783, which is a funny-looking little tower with a 700MHz Celeron processor and 192Mb of RAM. This is obviously not a lot of horsepower for a desktop system, so in an effort to reduce any overhead, I recently compiled a 2.6.23 kernel, and left out everything I didn’t need.

I more or less had to start from scratch with this, since I couldn’t find any existing .config files out there for this model. The new kernel boots, and the system does seem more responsive, although I haven’t rigorously tested every piece of hardware to make sure it’s working correctly. If you’re lucky (or unlucky) enough to still be working on one of these machines, my .config is posted below as a PDF1, which should at least get you started compiling a streamlined kernel.

I have also been looking into running gNewSense on this machine, since its hardware is fully supported and I see no reason not to run all Free Software if I can. The trouble is, I don’t have enough RAM to run the LiveCD! (This is why I’m running Ubuntu in the first place: the alternate install disc allowed me to install easily on this system.) I have asked on the forum about doing a dist-upgrade from Ubuntu Feisty to gNewSense, but so far, no one has replied. If you know anything about how to do this, or know of a gNewSense installation procedure for low-memory systems, I’d love to hear it!

Here’s my .config for this machine.

[1]: Sorry that I couldn’t just post the file itself. WordPress only allows me to upload certain types of documents, not arbitrary text files. You can hopefully just copy and paste the text out of the PDF.

Written by whereofwecannotspeak

October 24, 2007 at 10:38 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i dont know exactly where to copy and past this at on my computer if u can tell me i would appreciate it

    shawn alley

    August 7, 2009 at 3:08 pm


Comments are closed.

